• »
Forum moderator: Alexor  
Forum » Process Simulator » English » Communication questions
Communication questions
brittacwDate: Monday, 26.10.2015, 18:51 | Message # 1
Private
Group: Users
Hi Alexander, thanks a lot for your hard work on this program smile

I am new to Process Simulator, and I was wondering if it would work in my situation. I need to pass data from an OPC-DA server, which I saw is an available connection in the program. Then the simulation output must be passed to an OPC-DA client (perhaps using Modbus) which is a Siemens PLC.

Let me know if this description needs to be more specific, I have not tried implementing it with Process Simulator. Just asking if you think this would be a good use for the program.

And thanks again!

AlexorDate: Monday, 26.10.2015, 21:55 | Message # 2
Major general
Group: Administrators
Welcome :)

I think PS is suitable for your task.  Also, you may use S7IsoTCP connection to write simulation output directly to Siemens PLC S7-300/400 (S7-1200/1500 with limitations).

Try it, and if you will have any questions do not hesitate to ask.

brittacwDate: Wednesday, 04.11.2015, 13:01 | Message # 3
Private
Hi Alexor, thanks for the reply.

I have had some time to work on the project. I have success in connecting a model in Mechatronics Concept Designer (MCD) with PS. However I am having trouble with the PS - PLC connection. PS is able to "see" the PLC in Connections, using the IP address of the PLC (I am using an Ethernet cable). However the connection quickly breaks due to errors if I create an Item.

Connection ´Connection 1´error. MD0.0 DWORD CLI : function refused by CPU (Unknown error)

I am very new to this topic, so I do not know how to configure the PLC connection. I have tried different data types, etc.

The goal is for example, an initial test where the position of a cube in MCD is controlled by a simple program on the PLC, such as a counter. The PLC is of the S7300/400 type.

Thanks again smile